7 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Croatia

Croatia is among the top tourist destinations in Europe – it’s a country rich in history and culture. It has beautiful islands, national nature parks and it is famous for its gastronomy. Croatia has 7 UNESCO World Heritage Sites that are not to be missed.It is identified as national heritage. Croatia is a beautiful in any time, but I can tell you,when you decide to come,  Croatia is the most beautiful  from April till October.

1. The Old City of Dubrovnik

Dubrovnik is the “Pearl of the Adriatic,”. Dubrovnik became a centre for maritime trade in the 15th and 16th centuries and it was highly developed. It is established as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1979. A great number of Gothic, Baroque and Renaissance architectural monuments such as palaces, churches and monasteries will take your breath. It is among the best preserved medieval cities in the world.

Dubrovnik is a remarkably well-preserved example of a late-medieval walled city, with a regular street layout. Among the outstanding medieval, Renaissance and Baroque monuments within the magnificent fortifications and the monumental gates to the city are the Town Hall (now the Rector’s Palace), dating from the 11th century; the Franciscan Monastery with its imposing church; the extensive Dominican Monastery; the cathedral (rebuilt after the 1667 earthquake); the customs house (Sponza), the eclectic appearance of which reveals the fact that it is the work of several hands over many years; and a number of other Baroque churches, such as that of St Blaise (patron saint of the city).

2. The Cathedral of St. James

The Cathedral of St. James is the main destination for culturally oriented tourism in the city of Sibenik. It is built in a Gothic-Renaissance style under the direction of the famous architects Juraj Dalmatinac and Nikola Firentinac. It was built exclusively of stone, according to an original method of assembling stone blocks and other features include the unity of the interior and exterior and the integration of the sculpture and architecture as well as iconographic innovations.
The cathedral was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2000.

3.The Plitvice Lakes National Park

It consists of 16 lakes and it is under the protection of UNESCO. An abundance of flora, fauna, spacious forest, forest trails and wooden bridges form the national park. The electric boat as well as the electric train transport tourists.
It was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List in 1979.

4. The Historical City of Trogir

It was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List in 1997.due to its beauty and cultural value. The Historical City of Trogir has a large number of palaces and churches.
Trogir has a large number of Baroque buildings and Romanesque churches. The Church of St. Lovro is famous and it is among the most important architectural buildings in Croatia.

5. Hvar’s Stari Grad Plain

It is established as a cultural heritage in 2008. It has one of the best examples of ancient Greek agricultural systems in Croatia. It is ideal location and destination who wants to discover an ancient agricultural system from thousands of years ago.

6. The Episcopal Complex of the Euphrasian Basilica

The Episcopal Complex was built in 313 and is among the best examples of Byzantine architecture and art in the world. It wasinscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List in 1997.The basilica is part of a complex composed of: baptistry, bell tower, a colonnaded atrium, an Episcopal residence and a trefoil-shaped memorial chapel.

7.The Historical Complex of Split

It is Established as a cultural heritage in 1979. The most famous is Diocletian’s Palace. The Palace was built with stone from the island of Brac.

Discover it and Croatia.